Fun Time Is Over

Since the Cardinals put so little effort into the game last night against the Reds, I almost didn’t put forth the effort needed to write an entry today. But rest assured, I’m always giving you my devoted, yet small following 100% effort with this blog at all times. Too bad the Cards couldn’t do the same last night against the Reds.

I don’t have much to say about last nights game. It was, for lack of a better word, a snore fest. Totally and completly boring from first pitch to the final out. I was complety wrong with I thought Adam would dominate the Reds,and Lohse wouldn’t get out of the 4th. That’s not the first time I’ve been wrong about a games outcome this season. I honestly felt pretty good going into last nights game. I really thought the Cards would come out firing and put the Reds away early. I thought this because I took a look at the upcoming schedule yesterday and saw that this was the last *easy* game the Cards would play for over 3 weeks. As I said here yesterday, the Cards have a pretty tough schedule for the remainder of April. So I felt the Cards would come out and give max effort last night, because that could be the last time for a while they could go into a game knowing they’ll probably be the winners when the final out is made. But did they come out and play their best and give 110% last night? No. So what happened? They get shut out by Kyle effing Lohse for 8 innings, and only score once, and that was in the bottom of the 9th. Adam didn’t pitch too bad, till the 4th. That’s when the trouble started. He gave up a cheep solo homer to Jr, then a no doubter to Edwin Ecar a few batters later. Then in the 6th he gave up another solo homer to Adam Dunn. He left after the 6th, and now has a 4-5 record with a 5.19 ERA. Not the numbers the Cards invisioned their future ace having his first year in the rotation. Anyway, last nights game stuck. So I’m done talking about it.

Like the subject of this entry states, fun time for the Cards is OVER. Now they get to the real *meaty* part of the schedule for the month of June. The Angels visit Busch III for the weekend. They are probably the hottest team going in all of baseball. They have a over all record of 38-23, they’ve won 7 of their last 10. And recently improved on their record away from LA. They are now playing .500 ball, which is a big step in the right direction if your an Angels fan. Big Bartolo Colon starts tonight for the Angels going up against ATAW favorite, KIPPY. Big Bart’s stats sound like this. 5-4, with a 5.44 ERA. It’s important to note he’s coming off of offseason surgery, and in fact started the season on the DL. He skipped his last start with triceps tendinitis. I saw part of his previous start, and his fastball has deffinaly lost some of it’s heat, only toping out at 92-93. He struggled with his control, he counldn’t get anything over for a strike except his fastball. And now more than ever, he’s living up to the name Big Bart. So if I’m the Cards, I don’t swing at anything but the heat, and I make him work, and get his pitch count sky high. If you add everything Bart’s been dealing with, injury’s,weight, loss of control. The Cards could steal the first game of the series if the get to Bart early and often.

Of course that all goes down the pooper if KIPPY can’t hold up his end of the bargin. Now is the time when the Cards need KIPPY most. Some how, some way, even with last nights annoying loss,  they find themselves 5 1/2 games back of the Brewers, and 5 games under .500. The bats finally seam to be waking up after taking April and the first part of May off. The bull pen is still doing very well despite being over worked as of late. The only thing that’s preventing the Cards from putting together a very long and much needed winning streak is the starting pitching. They SUCK. I’m not going to rattle off the digits, but here is all you need to know. They rank DEAD LAST in almost every category for starters. Now I know, it’s not really fair to pick on them. After all, every one but KIPPY was in the pen last season, and even KIPPY was hurt most of the year. But so far this season, the only thing wrong with KIPPY is he loses it if the smallest thing goes wrong for him during a game. And that can’t happen any more. If KIPPY wants to keep his job, he needs to sack up, listen to what Dave and his teammates have been telling him. And finaly become the the winner the Cards are paying him to be. If KIPPY can hold it together for 7 good innings, and the Cards are very selective at the plate and make Big Bart work, they just might win. KIPPY has his work cut out for him. The Angels are one of the best hitting teams in the AL. They have 4 regular players hitting well above .300. And as usual led by Vlad Guerrero. Who can hit any pitcher, any time, any place, any where.

So the Cards deffinaly have their work cut out for them. They will have to play better than their best if they expect to win this up coming series. Their past history vs the AL is not very good. They will deffiantly have to reverse the trends of getting blown out if they expect to win. They need to be the blowers, not the blowie’s. (Yes, I did just make up that word. Dig Me) The only way the Cards can win this series is if they get to the Angels starters early and often. Because if the Angels get to the 8th inning with a lead, the game is over. They have probably the best set up guy/closer combo in the majors with Scot Shields and K Rod. K Rod already has 19 saves, 35 K’s, and only 11 walks. So like I said, if the Angels have a lead late in the game, the Cards have almost no shot to win.  

It’s going to take every thing they got and more for the Cards to pull off a series win. The odds are certanly stacked against them. Do I think they can do it? Well I hope they can do it. But honestly I got a bad feeling about this weekend. I fear it could get ugly fast. But I always bet on the Cards. If they get out of this world performances from their starters, they’ll win. If not, it could be a repete of last years June trip to chicago and detroit. The Angels are that good. But I’m going with my heart, the Cards will find a way to win the series. 

I hope.

Depending on a vareity of things, I don’t know what my plans are for the weekend. I know most sites take the weekend off, but clearly this isn’t most sites. Don’t be surprised if I’m back kickin’ it like only I know how to do Saturday and Sunday. I do what I do. And that’s all I can do.

So till next time this is Jonny Bone reminding everyone out there to always, keep makin’ it bounce.

PEACE.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

