I Hate To Say I Told You So,,,,

Actually, I don’t. I’m not right very often, so pardon me for enjoying this. But I was dead sold perfect when I told you last time that the Cardinals series win over the Brew Crew wasn’t any thing to get excited about. And by the outcome of the just completed series in the hole that is Pittsburgh, at least for once, I was right.

That was some piss poor play we just witnessed in Pittsburgh. From both teams. But especially from the Cards. You just don’t lose 2 out of 3 games from a team that’s only won TWO EFFING GAMES SINCE THE ALL STAR BREAK!!!! UGH! Every Cardinal player, coach and front office person should be ashamed of that pathetic display. It was a joke. Only it’s not funny. Not even close. That is not how a defending World Series champion goes about defending their title. And you know what? As of right now, I will no longer refer to the Cardinals as *defending World Champions*. They don’t deserve to be called that any more. It’s very clear the Cards are not going to be playing in October this season. And their lack of effort all season long has pissed me off so much, that I’ve totally forgotten all the good vibes and great memories they gave me last October.

You know, one could argue that this season was doomed even before it started. From the owners ordering to Walt to keep the payroll lower than last seasons. Which led to Walt being out bid on some high priced free agents. (Can we really be mad he didn’t sign Jason Schmidt, Alfonso Soriano or El Caballo? I don’t think so.) To Tony *falling asleep* at a stop light in Jupiter. To Josh Hancock plowing into the back of a flat bed tow truck. To Carp being lost for all of this season, and more than likely all of next season. To the flat out lie that Marky Mark would not only pitch this season, but finally be the Marky Mark they gave up so much for in the first place. To Scotty, Jimmy, ECK & AK all completely falling off the face of the earth and being totally useless bodies on a baseball diamond. To Tony’s down right bone headed & utterly incomprehensible moves, double switches, and stubborn use of less talented vets over far superior, younger, and most importantly, hungrier players. To the continued miss handling of the best pitching prospect the Cards have drafted since Rick Ankiel. To the flat out disaster that has been the starting rotation. Did I miss something? Unfortunately not.

It certainly has been a season to forget. And personally I can’t wait for these final two months to be over. I can’t remember the Cards playing with this much apathy since 98 when all that matter was if Big Mac went deep. Honestly, if the coaches and players don’t care about their performance on the diamond, why should we fans care? And it’s going to get worse this weekend folks. The Cards travel to D.C. to take on the Nats. And it’s going to get ugly. The Nats just swept the Reds right out of town. Seriously, the Cards are about to get dump trucked by a franchise that was almost contracted a few short years ago. You know I can put up with losing to a superior team. But I just will not stand for the supposed defending World Champions playing like they are on a church league soft ball team. Only playing for the pot luck dinner served after the game. And that’s just how most of the Cards look. They look like they couldn’t care less about being on the diamond, let alone defending their title as champions of the world. I don’t know if I can put up with their flat out lack of effort much longer. Again, if they don’t care, why should I?

Well I’m a glutton for punishment, so of course I’ll watch every inning I can this weekend. And as usual, I’ll be right back here bright and early Monday to tell you all about it. Well, maybe not bright and early. Probably closer to two-ish. Try and make it a great weekend.

Till next time this is Jonny Bone reminding every one, that the light and the end of the tunnel, may be you.

Keep makin it bounce.

PEACE.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

