1978 – 2007

29 years.

29 years is not that long of a time. It’s barely a drop in the bucket compared to all of eternity.

29 years.

How can it seam so long sometimes, yet not even come close to being long enough?

Today is a dark day in Cardinal Nation. Today marks the one year anniversary of the day we lost a member of our family. Today, right around the time I am posting this entry, Josh Hancock drove his rented Ford Explorer into the back of a flat bed tow truck. He died instantly. Mercifully, he did not feel any pain. It is truly a sad day. One that we fans should never, ever forget. We all know the story by now. Josh was driving drunk that night. His BAC was almost twice the legal limit. Out of respect for Josh & his family I’m not going into anything else about that night, or about how Josh lived his life. Now is not the time to pass judgment. His death really hit me hard. For one, we are really close in age. He’s exactly six months to the day younger than I. And how he lived his life, is probably the exact same way I would have lived mine if I had been a major league baseball player. So I cannot & will not judge him, because I’m not so sure I wouldn’t have been doing the exact same thing.

I don’t know what the Cardinals are going to do to mark the day today, if anything. But I am going to be thinking about Josh. I can’t help it. I am going to pray for his family. And I am going to pray that one day I’ll be able to meet Josh up in heaven & thank him for the great memories he gave me in October 2006. In fact, I hope he’s up there in heaven right now playing catch with my dad. That would be pretty freaking awesome.

In closing, all I ask out of anyone who reads this is, don’t make the same mistake Josh did that night & get behind the wheel of a car when you have no business driving. Call a cab or bum a ride with a friend. But please, never, EVER drive drunk. It’s not worth it. It’s never worth it. Don’t believe me? Just has Josh Hancock’s family.

Till next time this is Jonny Bone reminding every one, yes even you. That the light at the end of the tunnel may be you.

Always keep makin it bounce.

PEACE.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

