DK 57

Today marks the sixth anniversary of the passing of beloved Cardinals pitcher, husband & father, Darryl Kyle. I remember exactly where I was when I heard the news.

I was visiting HUGE down in Springfield, and we were getting ready to go out & get a late lunch. We turned on the local FOX affiliate to check the score real quick, and were surprised the game wasn’t on. For some reason there wasn’t another game on, we thought there must be a rain delay up in the windy city. So HUGE started channel surfing trying to find out when the game would start. He went to the weather channel & saw there was no rain any where close to the windy city. Then he hopped around some other channel till he hit FOX NEWS and there was Joe Buck talking to a visibly shaken Tony. But all we heard was Joe thanking Tony for the interview & sending it back to the studio. That’s when the screen showed a picture of DK with the dates 1968 – 2002 under it. Then anchor said, “Again, repeating this breaking news. St. Louis Cardinals starting pitcher Darryl Kyle was found dead this morning in his Chicago area hotel room.”

I was standing and HUGE was sitting on the couch, and when I heard & saw that I stumbled back and fell into a chair. I could not believe what I had just seen & heard. I looked at HUGE & said something along the line that there was no way he was dead. On the drive out there, I had just listened to him on KMOX pitch the Cardinals into the division lead the day Jack died. He was completely healthy. He was the staff Ace. He was the team leader. There’s no way on GOD’s green earth that he was dead. I called my dad to see if he had heard the news. My dad had just gotten home from a hard morning at work, and wasn’t in the best mood to begin with. But the second I heard his voice I knew some thing was wrong. He confirmed he had seen the start of the game & heard Joe Girardi’s speech, and he had seen all of Joe’s interview with Tony. He said DK was gone, but he didn’t know what happened.

(Side note, that’s the last conservation I remember having with my dad before he got hurt & sick. I know I had hundreds of them in the few months between DK’s death & dads injury. But I don’t remember any of them. I only remember that one phone call. It’s funny what sticks in your mind isn’t it?)

The rest the day is a bit of a blur. I do remember we left shortly after hearing the news & met up with some of HUGE’s friends for that late lunch. But after that, other than watching ESPN non stop that night, I really don’t remember much. I guess that’s for the best. I was pretty shaken up, and still am. It’s just makes no sence. I know he had a heart condition, and his family had a history of heart problems. But still, with the best of the best DR’s at their disposal, MLB players should not die suddenly in their sleep. That just shouldn’t happen.

But I digress. Today isn’t a day to trash the Cards medical staff. Today is a day to look back & reflect on Darryl Kyle. To this day, his loss is still being felt, not only by the Cardinals, but by his family. I can’t imagine what this day will be like for Flynn & his three kids. I ask every one who reads this to say a prayer for them. It can’t be easy for them. Also this day can’t be easy for his teammates. There’s not many left on the Cardinals, Albert & IZZY are the only two that come to mind at this late hour. Of course most of the coaches are still the same. So it goes without saying, it’s not going to be an easy day for all of them. I know it’s going to be hard to focus on the Sox today, but I hope they can push threw it.

That’s it, that’s all I have for today. Go out & sweep the Sox boys. Make DK proud.

Till next time, this is Jonny Bone reminding every one, yes, even you. That the light at the end of the tunnel may be you.

Always keep makin it bounce.

PEACE.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

