We’ve Come To The End Of The Road

Well, sadly we’ve come to the end of the 2008 regular season. Our beloved Cardinals did not make the playoff for the second year in a row. But just like last year, it wasn’t without them doing everything they could to play in October. The player’s that is. The front office & coaching staff let them down big time. But I’ll get to that later. They’ve got one game to left in the year, and if they win & sweep the Reds right out of town, they’ll finish ten games above .500 for the season. And that’s something no one, not you, not me, not anyone who follows the game of baseball realistically thought this team had a snowballs chance in hell of accomplishing.

You know, I’m going to miss this ball club. After this terrible last month, I didn’t think I would. In fact, due to Tonys never ending shenanigans, MO’s inability to provide sufficient help when a player got hurt, (it didn’t help that Tony said he couldn’t find playing time for said help even if it did show up! Genius my ass!) I really stopped caring & watching the games with much interest. But as the season comes to a close, I begin to look back on everything they have accomplished & started to appreciate just how special a team they really were. They may not be the best Cardinals team of all time, but they have certainly earned my respect. Just like too many recent Cardinal editions, they took hit after hit after hit, player after player went down with injury. And just like that little pink bunny, they never quit. Sure there were some rough games where even I turned the channel in disgust. But the players that were on the field never ever quit. And in spite of their GM’s & managers best efforts, they’ll finish with a winning record & a special place in my heart.

Now, about TLR’s shenigans. What the hell was he doing playing Aaron F’ing Miles, Adam F’ing Kennedy, BOOG & Floopy in the outfield? All the while Stav Infection & Crab Man, two real, actual outfielders sat with their thumbs up their asses on the bench. And the poster child of the youth movement, the next great Cardinals center fielder, sits at home playing XBOX & working on his gangsta hooping skillz. Now I rarely curse, but what the fuck was Tony thinking? And a better question, what the fuck is MO doing letting Tony get away with pulling that crap? I don’t for one second buy that Colby is & was still nursing his hurt knee. If the kid is dunking on the boyz down in his home town, the knee is fine. So why play below average middle infielders in the out outfield? That’s a damn good question. But sadly, one we’ll never get the real answer to thanks to the cojonesless STL media.

I have one more bone to pick with TLR, and especially pitching coach Dave Duncan. They have gone on record saying the closer of the future, Chris“Young Pitcher” Perez throws too many pitches past the batters, and he needs to rework his delivery, and he needs to lose a lot of weight. Are you fucking kidding me? Since when is it a bad thing when your closer comes in & throws the ball past the batters? And yes, while it’s true his control on some days is less than desired, and he still needs to work on that slider of his, there is absolutely no reason whatsoever for him to have to totally change everything that has made him a success at this point, just to appease his hall of fame pitching coach. When will Dave Duncan learn that yes, SOME PITCHERS CAN BE SUCCESSFUL UP IN THE ZONE. ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY THROW 97 FUCKING MILES AN HOUR!!!! AHHHHHHHHHHH!! I swear if this is Anthony Reyes 2.0, I’m going to seriously hurt someone. Leave YP alone Dave. If you don’t, I promise you there will be hell to pay. You have been warned.

Other than that, I really don’t have a whole lot to say. It’s been a great season. Despite all the bumps along the way, it really has been a great year. I’m glad it’s almost over, yet I’m sad it’s coming to an end. In a perfect world, they’d be playing deep into October. But this is far from a perfect world. I highly doubt I’ll be watching much baseball this October, with the Cards & Yankee’s out of the running, I really have no dog left in the hunt. But if you are watching, I like the Angels, they are a really good ball club. They pitch, hit & field at a super high level. I would consider them the favorite in the AL. If the Twins get in I like them too. But not to get to the WS. On the NL side of things, I really could care less. I guess the Dodgers are my favorite out of the bunch. If you’ve read any of my work in the past, you should know I couldn’t care less about the teams out east & in the central & wild card in either league. So my teams to watch if you are going to watch should come as no surprise.

Well that’s it for this season, and sadly maybe forever. I can’t honestly say if I’ll be back next year to follow the Cardinals progress as they try to win their NL leading 11th World Series. Or for that matter this winter & off season as MO tries to make them a true playoff contender. A lot has changed in my world over the last 10 months since dads death & I no longer have the time or energy to update this blog on a regular basis. And I hate that, I really do. A blog with this name quite frankly deserves a better host who can update it on a regular basis. And I just don’t think I am the right host for the job anymore. Things change & life must go on, with or without me giving the world my two cents about my favorite baseball team. I can’t speak for Huge, but since he hasn’t been here all season, I highly doubt he’ll have much time in the future to give the world his thoughts. So this very well could be goodbye, but I wouldn’t bet on it. I’m sure Tony will do something to piss me off or MO will make a big splash at the winter meetings. If so, I’ll just have to jump on here & tell the world what I think. Spoiler alert, MO hinted at trying to acquire Hanley Ramirez from the Fish on last nights FSN MW post game. IF that happens, and he doesn’t give up the farm, I guarantee you I’ll be back to sing his praises.

I hate goodbyes, so I’m not going to say goodbye. This is not goodbye. I’m just going to say thank you to every one who has taken the time to read my rambling, incoherent babblings. It’s been a blast, and I am truly grateful to each & every person who has stopped by to see what we here at ATAW are all about.

So till next time, if there ever is a next time, this is Jonny Bone reminding everyone, yes, even you. That the light at the end of the tunnel may be you.

So be sure that you always, no matter what, keep makin it bounce.

PEACE.

1 Comment

  1. Dude…I know you said you werent gonna do a lot of posting here, but it looks like youve completely abandoned your blog and forgotten it even exists. If thats true, take it down. If ya wanna keep it going, please do some current posts. Its been nearly nine months since your last entry! Surely your beloved Cards have done something this year that is worthy of a few comments or rants!
    Let me hear from you soon. Keep me posted on what you are DOING.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

